ASC Congratulates Athletes Selected for SAHOF Mentorship Program


The Australian Sports Commission has congratulated the athletes selected for the Sport Australia Hall of Fame Scholarship and Mentorship Program 2023.

The program winners, announced today, will work with three Olympic gold medalists, an NBA champion, an Australian surfing legend and a great cricketer.

The three-tier scholarship scheme, which is supported by the Australian Sports Commission, supports promising athletes on their journey to excellence and success on the world stage, awarding $150,000 in funding to 32 athletes each year .

Six athletes have been selected into Tier 1 of the program and will receive $10,000 for their training and competition, as well as one-on-one mentorship from some of Australia’s top sportsmen.

ASC President Josephine Sukkar AM said the Commission was proud to support the program, which has helped many athletes represent Australia on the world stage.

“To see 32 other elite young athletes recognized for their talent, drive and determination is inspiring,” she said.

“It’s also great to see sports like javelin, baseball and badminton represented for the first time among the 2023 scholarship recipients, proving the breadth of Australia’s talent for sporting achievement.

“As we enter the Green and Gold decade of major international sporting events on home soil, this financial support will no doubt provide additional incentive for young athletes to help them pursue their sporting dreams.

“I congratulate all the 2023 scholarship recipients and wish them every success in their sports endeavours.”

The Tier 1 scholarship recipients are Claire Colwill (hockey) who won a silver medal at the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games; Alyssa Polites (cycling) who was part of the Australian cycling team in Birmingham; Mackenzie Mielczarek (athletics – javelin); Max Stagg (baseball); Jesse Parkinson (snowboard); and Stefan Elliott-Shircore (sailing).

These six athletes each received a mentor who is currently a member of the Sport Australia Hall of Fame.

The 2023 mentors are two-time Olympic medalist, world champion and Olympic beach volleyball champion Nat Cook (beach volleyball); Steve Waugh AO, two-time ICC Cricket World Cup winner, former Australian captain and 2004 Australian of the Year; three-time Olympian and member of Australia’s first Olympic gold medal-winning hockey team, Sharon Buchanan OAM; three-time Olympic gold medalist and 10-time Commonwealth Games gold medalist, and one of Australia’s most successful swimmers of all time, Leisel Jones OAM; the three-time NBA champion and 1989 eye medalist, Luc Longley AM; and former ASP World Champion, 1991 Rip Curl Pro winner and Surfing Australia Hall of Famer Barton Lynch.

Each Tier 1 Scholar will receive funding from the Sport Australia Hall of Fame for 12-15 months, which can be used for expenses such as travel, training and specialist support, as well as unparalleled access to personal advice from their mentor.

There will be 26 more athletes receiving Tier 2 and 3 scholarships announced in the coming weeks.

Since the inception of the unique scholarship mentorship program in 2006, SAHOF has benefited 173 athletes in 53 sports.

More information is available on the Sport Australia Hall of Fame website.


Comments are closed.