Indian Olympics hero Neeraj Chopra nominated for Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year 2022 award


London: Neeraj Chopra, India’s first-ever winner of an Olympic gold medal in athletics, has been nominated for the 2022 Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year award. He is one of six nominees for the prestigious award.

With his second throw measuring 87.58 meters, Chopra became the first Indian track and field athlete to win an individual Olympic gold medal at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics, the other being Abhinav Bindra in air rifle in 2008.

He is only the third Indian athlete to be nominated for a Laureus Award, after wrestler Vinesh Phogat in 2019 and cricket maestro Sachin Tendulkar, who won the Laureus Sporting Moment Award 2000-2020, which marked the emotional moment at the 2011 ICC World Cup, when his team carried him on their shoulders in a victory lap after India won.

“I’m delighted to be nominated for this Laureus award and it’s a great honor for me to be recognized in the world of sport for what I accomplished in Tokyo,” a delighted Chopra said after being nominated for the award.

“From being a kid in a small village in rural India who only took up the sport to get in shape, to standing on an Olympic podium, it’s been quite an eventful journey so far. I feel privileged to be able to represent my country and win Indian medals on the world stage, and now to have this recognition from Laureus and to be seen alongside such outstanding athletes is a truly special feeling,” a- he added.

Besides Neeraj, the other five sportsmen who have been nominated for the Breakthrough Award are – Britain’s Emma Raducanu, who became a global tennis sensation when she won the US Open at the age of 18, Russian Daniil Medvedev, who won the men’s title at Flushing Meadows, FC Barcelona football prodigy Pedri, 19, voted Ballon d’Or best young player, Yulimar Rojas, who broke the triple jump world record at 26 , and 20-year-old swimmer Ariarne Titmus, who won twice, beat champion Katie Ledecky in the 200 and 400m in Tokyo.

A panel of more than 1,300 of the world’s top sports journalists and broadcasters have selected the nominees in each of seven categories for this year’s Laureus World Sports Awards. The winners will be revealed in April, following a vote by the Laureus World Sports Academy, the world’s premier sports jury, made up of 71 of the greatest sporting legends of all time.

The full list of nominees:

Laureus Award for World Sportsman of the Year:

Tom Brady (USA) American football – the greatest quarterback in the NFL, he won a record seventh Super Bowl

Novak Djokovic (Serbia) Tennis – won three Grand Slams in 2021 to take his career win tally to 20

Caeleb Dressel (USA) Swimming – outstanding swimmer in Tokyo with five Olympic gold medals

Eliud Kipchoge (Kenya) Athletics – became the third person in history to win consecutive Olympic marathons

Robert Lewandowski (Poland) Football – surpassed Gerd Muller’s record of 40 goals in a season for Bayern

Max Verstappen (Netherlands) Motor Racing – won his first Formula 1 World Championship in 2021

Laureus Award for Global Sportswoman of the Year:

Ashleigh Barty (Australia) Tennis – world No. 1, won Wimbledon, her second career Grand Slam

Allyson Felix (USA) Athletics – overtook Carl Lewis as the most decorated U.S. Olympian in athletics

Katie Ledecky (USA) Swimming – won gold in the 800 and 1500 meter freestyle in Tokyo, plus two silvers

Emma McKeon (Australia) Swimming – won four gold and three bronze in Tokyo, the most by an individual

Alexia Putellas (Spain) Football – Captain of Barcelona; won Ballon d’Or and UEFA Women’s Player of the Year

Elaine Thompson-Herah (Jamaica) Athletics – won the Olympic 100 and 200 meters and the 4×100 m relay

Laureus Award for World Team of the Year:

Argentina men’s soccer team – won the Copa America; Lionel Messi’s first international trophy, at 34

Barcelona women’s football team (Spain) – won the inaugural Champions League by beating English club Chelsea 4-0 China Olympic Diving Team – won gold medals in seven of the eight events held in the Tokyo swimming pool

The Italian men’s soccer team – under Roberto Mancini won the European Championship for the first time since 1968 Mercedes-AMG Petronas Formula One Team (Germany) – won a record eighth Constructors’ Championship

Milwaukee Bucks (USA) Basketball – inspired by Giannis Antetokounmpo, won a second NBA championship

Laureus Award for Global Breakthrough of the Year:

Neeraj Chopra (India) Athletics – won the javelin to become the first Indian winner of an Olympic gold medal in athletics

Daniil Medvedev (Russia) Tennis – won his first-ever Grand Slam, losing a single set at the US Open

Pedri (Spain) Football – 19, played 53 times in 2020/21 for Barcelona, ​​and every game for Spain at Euro 2020

Emma Raducanu (UK) Tennis – became a global sensation when she won the US Open aged 18

Yulimar Rojas (Venezuela) Athletics – broke the 26-year-old world record to win triple jump gold in Tokyo

Ariarne Titmus (Australia) Swimming – 20, beat champion Katie Ledecky in 200 and 400m in Tokyo

Laureus World Comeback of the Year Awards:

Simone Biles (USA) Gymnastics – after dropping out in Tokyo, she came back to win bronze on beam

Sky Brown (UK) Skateboarder – 13, recovered from a fractured skull to win bronze in Tokyo

Mark Cavendish (UK) Cycling – fought back from depression to claim second Tour de France sprint title

Tom Daley (UK) Diving – had knee surgery in June but won gold in the 10m synchronized in Tokyo

Marc Márquez (Spain) Motor Cycling – first victory in 581 days, after recovering from a broken arm in early 2020

Annemiek van Vleuten (Netherlands) Cycling – won the Olympic time trial days after missing out on gold in the road race

Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability Award:

Diede De Groot (Netherlands) Wheelchair tennis – first player to complete the Golden Slam of the calendar year

Marcel Hug (Switzerland) Wheelchair athletics – won Paralympic gold medals in 800, 1500, 5000m and marathon

Shingo Kunieda (Japan) Wheelchair tennis – host country hero, won the fourth Paralympic gold of his career

Jetze Plat (Netherlands) Para-cycling/Paratriathlon – won three Paralympic gold medals in two sports

Susana Rodríguez (Spain) Para Triathlon – won gold in Tokyo in the PTVI triathlon, her first Paralympic medal

Sarah Storey (UK) Para-cycling – won three gold medals from three events to take her career tally to 17

Laureus Award for Global Action Sportsman of the Year:

Ítalo Ferreira (Brazil) Surfing – in Tokyo became the first Olympic surfing gold medalist

Alberto Ginés (Spain) Climbing – 18, scaled a 15-meter wall in 6.42 seconds to win gold in speed climbing

Yuto Horigome (Japan) Skateboarding – won the first ever Olympic gold medal in skateboarding much to the delight of the host country

Carissa Moore (USA) Surfing – won the first-ever Olympic gold medal in women’s surfing, then added her fifth world title

Momiji Nishiya (Japan) Skateboarding – at age 13, won the first-ever Olympic gold medal in a women’s street event

Bethany Shriever (UK) BMX – first woman to win both Olympics and World Championships gold in the same year

Laureus Sport for Good Award

Programs nominated by a specialized selection committee; Laureus Academy selects the winner

Ich Will Da Rauf! (Germany) Climbing – Disabled and non-disabled share the challenge of the climbing wall

Juca pe Cagna (Italy) Multisports – provides safe places to play away from the influence of crime

Kick 4 Life (Lesotho) Football – supporting young people through health education and HIV testing

Lost Boyz Inc (USA) Baseball – uses baseball in Chicago to reduce violence and improve social conditions

Monkey Magic (Japan) Climbing – promotes free climbing for people with visual impairments



Comments are closed.