Jamaica’s para-surfers exceed expectations with 2024 Olympics leading the way


Olympic gold medalists Elaine Thompson-Herah and Hansle Parchment have been named among the nominees for the RJR Sports Foundation 2021 Athlete of the Year awards, which will take place on January 21, 2022.

Mainly due to the ongoing pandemic, the awards will be a televised event instead of the usual gala.

Thompson-Herah will likely be the favorite to add to the prize she won in 2016 when she became the first woman to win an Olympic sprint double since 1988. At the Tokyo Olympics, Thompson-Herah won three medals in the Olympic Games in Tokyo. ‘gold (100 m, 200 m and 4×100 m).

She won the 100m with an Olympic record of 10.61 and the 200m with a national record of 21.53, the second fastest time in history. After the Olympics, she ran 10.54, the second fastest time ever for a woman, at the Prefontaine Classic in Oregon on her way to claim the Diamond League title.

However, she is one of a group of women who also performed at exceptionally high levels throughout the year, until the end of November.

Chief among them is her longtime rival Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, who finished second in the 100m in Tokyo and was also a member of the gold medal team in the 4x100m. Pocket Rocket also made her own history in Tokyo when she became the only woman to win 100m medals at four consecutive Olympics.

She also set a personal best of 10.60, making her the third fastest woman in history.

Shericka Jackson is also among the nominees for bronze in the 100m in Tokyo, gold in the 4x100m and bronze in the 4x400m. She also clocked a personal best of 10.76 in the 100m.

Another nominee, Megan Tapper, made history when she became the first woman from the Caribbean to win a medal at the Olympic 100m hurdles. This, after surprisingly winning his second national title in June.

Last, but certainly not the least, of five nominees from West Indies cricketer Stafanie McPherson, whose consistent performances with bat and ball have made her one of the best female cricketers in the world. She also became one of only three women to score 5,000 ODI points in the history of women’s cricket.

Parchment, who stunned the world by beating American Grant Holloway and winning gold in the 110m hurdles at the Tokyo Olympics, leads the male nominees, which also includes his fellow sprint hurdler and national champion Ronald Levy, who won bronze in Tokyo.

Male nominees also include West Indian and Jamaican drummer Nkrumah Bonner and Rally Cross driver Fraser McConnell.

Nominees for People’s Choice Performance of the Year include Mikhail Antonio’s stunning strike against the United States at Kingston National Stadium and McConnell’s historic victory at the Nordic Rally Cross in February.

The other nominees are Tapper’s surprise bronze medal in the 100m hurdles in Tokyo, the Parchment gold race in Tokyo and the blazing 10.54 run in Thompson-Herah in Oregon on August 21.


Comments are closed.